If one of your friends on komoot is using the komoot Premium Live Tracking feature, you can be added as a safety contact by this person. This means that your friend can share their live location with you and you will always be able to see their current position.

To see how to manage your own safety contacts please read this article: Managing your safety contacts

Responsibility as a safety contact

If you’re added as a safety contact, your friend is relying on you as a point of contact in the rare event that something goes wrong on their Tour. In case you have the feeling that something might be wrong you could try the following:

  1. Give them a call to check they’re OK. 
  2. If you suspect their phone signal is weak, try sending them an SMS alerting them to your concerns and prompting them to get in touch. 
  3. Contact local authorities.

Seeing if you are a safety contact

As a Premium komoot user, you can check if another komoot user added you as a safety contact when you go to your Profile > Settings  > Live-Tracking > Manage Contacts > Added You on the komoot app. You will find a tab on the top titled “Added You”.

Opting out 

If you’d rather not receive notifications and Live Tracking information, you can opt out of being a safety contact by going to Profile > Settings > Live Tracking > Manage Contacts > Added You in the komoot app. Click on the tab “Added You” and you will see a “remove” button next to the person’s name.

Articles in this section