If you own a Cyclo 220 or a device out of the Cyclo Discover series (Discover, Discover Plus, Discover Connect or Discover Pal) you can set up a connection to komoot through MioShare and use your komoot Tours on your Mio device. At the same time you can sync completed Tours from your device back to komoot.

Note: Tours can only be transferred to Mio if the Tour starts in an unlocked region. This article explains how you can see which regions you have unlocked.

How to set up the connection

To use komoot on your Mio device, you need to connect your komoot account with your MioShare account. In case you don't have a MioShare account yet, you'll need to create one either on the MioShare webpage or in the MioShare app. For the connection to work, you need to be logged in with your MioShare account on your Mio device.

  1. Log in to your MioShare account on their website
  2. Click in the upper right corner on your name > "Synchronisation settings"
  3. Select "komoot"
  4. You’ll be redirected to the komoot website where you need to enter your komoot account credentials and login to your account
  5. Allow Mio access to your komoot account by clicking Grant Access

Now the connection is established.

  1. Log in to your MioShare account via the MioShare app
  2. Go to settings via the cogwheel icon
  3. Click "Synchronisation settings"
  4. Select "komoot"
  5. You’ll be redirected to the komoot website where you need to enter your komoot account credentials and login to your account
  6. Allow Mio access to your komoot account by clicking Grant Access

Now the connection is established.

Attention: To ensure you are establishing the connection to the same komoot account, that you are using on the phone, please compare the used email address in your komoot profile settings in the app: Profile > Settings () > Profile Information.  

Transferring Tours between komoot and Mio

For data transfer, you must link your MioShare account to your komoot account, as described above, and make sure that your Cyclo device is registered to your MioShare account in order to download the komoot Tours to the Cyclo device. 

Cyclo models with WiFi

For the models with built-in WiFi (Cyclo Discover Plus, Cyclo Discover Connect, Cyclo Discover Pal) the komoot Tours will be downloaded to your devices. Please ensure the WiFi Sync is activated on your device: "Settings" > "Connections" > "WiFi" > click “Sync” or "Settings" > "WiFi Sync".

Cyclo models without WiFi

If you use a model without WiFi function (Cyclo Discover or Cyclo 220) you will need to connected and registered your device to the desktop software CycloAgent. Afterwards the komoot Tours will be downloaded to your compatible Cyclo devices automatically.

Note: To save your Cyclo device memory, only the last 20 planned komoot Tours will be transferred to the device.

Tip: If you are out on a Tour and need to establish a connection, you can set up a WiFi-hotspot via your phone. 

Navigating komoot Tours on a Mio device

Make sure that you are logged in with your MioShare account on your device and follow this steps on your device:  

  1. Open the MioShare app
  2. In the main menu click on “Tours”
  3. Select "Komoot"
  4. Pick the Tour you want to navigate and press “Go”

After finishing the Tour, it will be saved on the device. Once the device reconnects with WiFi, the Tour will be transferred to your MioShare account and will automatically sync to your komoot profile.

Note: The navigation instructions on the device are done by Mio.

Disconnecting komoot from Mio

If you want to disconnect your komoot and Mio profiles, you can do so via the MioShare website or via the MioShare app. Follow this steps to disconnect your account:

  1. Log in to your MioShare account on their website
  2. Click in the upper right corner on your name
  3. Go to "Synchronisation settings"
  4. Select "Unlink"
  1. Log in to your MioShare account via the MioShare app
  2. Go to settings via the cogwheel icon
  3. Click "Synchronisation settings"
  4. Select "komoot"
  5. Hit "Unlink my account"

Once terminated, Mio will no longer have access to your komoot account. In instances where devices are managed by this connection, the impact this will have on your device depends on specific models/manufacturers. You may lose data and Tours that are saved on disconnected third-party devices. If you can, manually remove the connection on the device itself.

More resources

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request

Articles in this section