According to your notification settings, komoot sends the activated notification either by email or by push notification to your cell phone. You can tell if a particular notification is active if it is highlighted in color. This article explains how to enable or disable notifications and what the purpose of each notification is.

Note: How to unsubscribe from the komoot newsletter or the weekly highlight recommendations can be found here.

Edit notifications

You can recognize if a particular notification is active if it is highlighted in color. By clicking on the phone () or email-icon () you will subscribe or unsubscribe from the particular notification. 

  1. Click More () next to your username

  2. Settings
  3. Notifications
  1. Click Profile ()

  2. Settings ()
  3. Notifications

What triggers the notification?

Notification

Trigger

Someone comments on one of my Tours or Collections

You will be notified when another user comments on your Tour or Collection. We bundle these notifications and send them at most every 2 hours.

A Facebook friend joins komoot To receive this notification, your komoot account must be connected to Facebook.
I get a new follower You will be notified as soon as another user follows you.
Someone likes one of my Tours or Collections As soon as someone "likes" () one of your Tours or Collections, you will get a notification.
Someone I follow goes on a Tour

You will only get bundled notifications about completed tours from users you follow if you haven't looked at your Discover feed in the last 24h. Otherwise, the assumption is that you've already seen the Tours and don't need to get notified about them separately. 

Completed Tours from users you follow, who also follow you and who are in your close friends list will trigger the bundled notification immediately, without considering the 24 rule.

Note: If the Discover feed is not yet available in your country, you will receive notifications about each completed Tour, from users you follow. 

Someone rates my Highlight

If a user up-votes your highlight, you will be informed about it. 

Someone leaves a tip for my Highlight We will inform you as soon as a user has created a tip for a highlight you have created.
Tips for Highlights in my region Activate or deactivate the Highlight and Tour recommendations that we send out weekly. More information can be found here: Weekly highlight tips.
Tips on how to improve my Tours and Highlights After completing a Tour you will receive an email with tips on how to upload picture or eg. create Highlight.
Someone invites me to or tags me on a Tour
You will be notified when a user invites you to a Tour or marks you as a participant afterwards. 
Updates on my status as Expert or Pioneer

Provided you are participating in the Pioneer program, you will be notified when you become a Pioneer in a particular region or are promoted from that position.

Currently, there are no notifications for becoming an Expert.

When someone accepts my follow request Be notified when another user has accepted your request to follow their profile.
When I block or unblock other users We will notify you if you block a user. This setting also applies if you no longer block the user, so you will also receive a notification. 
When I change my profile's privacy settings Receive a notification as soon as you change your privacy setting
Updates from the people I'm a safety contact for Sends a notification when someone you are a safety contact for starts a Tour, as well as when it ends.
When someone mentions me in a comment As soon as you are mentioned or tagged in a comment, you will receive a notification.
Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request

Articles in this section